Jump to content

gimpeltf

Members
  • Content Count

    3,388
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    15

Everything posted by gimpeltf

  1. gimpeltf

    The call

    Again, 2-2 isn't necessarily 1 call. It might be and it might be 2 calls. Given that both mat officials saw different initiation of actions it can be viewed as separate calls requiring separate confirmations. I'm not sure I think that applies here - I'm just stating a theoretical possibility.
  2. gimpeltf

    The call

    My main point with this is that it's possible that the 2-2 was valid. Valid is different than correct. If you get pulled over for speeding it's possible that the radar used showed you speeding. But it could be wrong. So the pullover was valid but wrong.
  3. gimpeltf

    The call

    I should add a nuance to terms here (my opinion though). Most people are saying initiated meaning to the whole sequence. I'm suggesting it's possible for each wrestler to have initiated some part of the action. Z by pushing with his left foot and possibly diving over (see Sadulaev clip). Y by pushing with his left foot and possibly pulling Z over with the lock. My gut tells me that if Y initiated his action first then it should be only for him. But if Z initiated first it's then possible for Y's motion to also score since that's what turned Z over. Also, some seem to be trying to interpret rules in English that were written in French. The rules have always been more of a set of guidelines. Tucci talked about the 5 second rule (so to speak) and said it wasn't really hard and fast.
  4. gimpeltf

    The call

    I've brought this up before but I disagree that 2-2 by chairman is invalid. I agree that a conference was warranted. Sammy saw 2 blue based on his thought that Y initiated. Judge went 2 red because he thought Z initiated. Therefore they were both calling separate moves. Therefore each is ruled on separately. Valid calls are 2 Blue or 2 Red or 2-2 or nothing at all. You agree or disagree with each independently.
  5. gimpeltf

    Final X Rutgers live thread

    JDen can sing better.
  6. gimpeltf

    Top Freshman 2019/2020

    They won in 2001.
  7. gimpeltf

    The call

    Not sure which specific rules you're trying to paraphrase here but it sounds like they are assuming that this is continuous from Zain's initial shot. It's clear that Y stopped Z and now we're using different rules.
  8. gimpeltf

    Final X Rutgers live thread

    Let's try this a different way- saying someone would have wrestled differently depending on the score while in reality is what would normally happen is irrelevant to conducting a review. Figure out what the score should have been for that sequence and move on. I should add that I just now saw the sequence for the first time. I'm prejudiced based on seeing that Sammy reffed it but I agree it should have been 2 Blue only. However, my first view did leave me thinking 2-2 was possible. The review of mine agreed with the view (I think yours on another thread?) that Yianni's left leg did all the work but I was also looking to see if I thought Zain dropped his shoulder to roll through. Initially I thought he might have which is why I thought 2-2 was possible. I first noticed that Zain was pulled over the top which gives Y some initiation but I couldn't figure out how they started the roll without Z's initiation. It is possible for both wrestlers to initiate action. Y could have hit a crotch throw while Z did a roll through. It's not like Z hits a double and was continuous rendering Y's crotch throw irrelevant. Y did stop Z. So at that point it is conceivable. However, again right now I see 2 Blue.
  9. gimpeltf

    Final X Rutgers live thread

    So you're admitting that Yianni wasn't going 100%? That's the point. You're supposed to go 100% at all times and so it's assumed you are until you get penalized for passivity. Therefore the rules dismiss intentionally going less than 100% as an excuse. I'm not saying that in reality that's what happens in the wrestlers/coaches minds. I'm saying according the international philosophy (at least from back then) it's dismissed as an excuse for changing a score. Admitting that you would have wrestled differently depending on the score means you are also admitting to not trying to score constantly. Again, in reality nobody does that but it's not allowed as an excuse.
  10. gimpeltf

    Final X Rutgers live thread

    Huh? What does this have to do with a review changing the score?
  11. gimpeltf

    Final X Rutgers live thread

    Not sure if they still emphasize this nowadays but a few decades back when I officiated international styles the resulting potential strategy change due to a different score was intentionally dismissed since you were always supposed to be going 100% so how could anything change?
  12. gimpeltf

    The call

    That's the point I was making. Given that ref/judge did feel what they did it was two separate scoring situations. The chair gets to rule on each separately. I'm not getting into the merits of this situation just that one scored two red the other two blue therefore the chair gets to rule on each as separate calls. He could have ruled two red and white paddled the two blue. He could have ruled two blue and white paddled the two red. He could have ruled 2-2 as he did or he could have white paddled both calls.
  13. gimpeltf

    The call

    I didn't see it but two out of three did agree reading what you said here. Unless the ref or judge mis-called the colors then there were two separate situations being scored. The chair agreed with each of them.
  14. gimpeltf

    UALR in the PAC-12

    Ssh!
  15. Are there accidents that ARE supposed to happen?
  16. gimpeltf

    Final X - Rutgers

    You're a hwt that doesn't really root for anyone?
  17. gimpeltf

    USA cooking brackets...

    Yes, EscapeSports and my older dos program used up until around 2004 had the ability to hide seeds but still properly separate them. Flo had it for a year or two (they used the term obfuscate) but then eliminated the feature. I forget what reason they gave- I think they said it didn't always work correctly.
  18. gimpeltf

    UALR in the PAC-12

    The EIWA (most of the teams) offered to let Cornell join the new MAC/EWL merger since Cornell is geographically closer and then both leagues would be at 16. (Not really but several coaches had fun at Rob's expense!). ;)
  19. gimpeltf

    Any word on Kyle Conel, Cassar or Rasheed?

    The NCAA sets the requirement that they meet the NGBs status for a potential team member. How would the NCAA know if they were good enough? It would differ FS vs Greco and also differ for those going to US Colleges but representing other countries.
  20. gimpeltf

    Who wins the team title next year?

    I meant that Penn State showed around 1925 on wrestlingstats. Interesting that he must have shared more on the NWCA site than his own.
  21. gimpeltf

    Who wins the team title next year?

    When I look on Boomer's site it starts with Navy in around 1925 which makes me wonder if that was the Navy team (not the academy)
  22. gimpeltf

    Who wins the team title next year?

    I wondered about that too when I saw the banner a few years ago. The NCAA tournament as such started in 1928. What I was told was that prior to the actual tournament it was basically a dual meet thing based on records throughout the year. I think Cornell could claim some of those also.
×