Jump to content

gimpeltf

Members
  • Content Count

    5,011
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    39

Everything posted by gimpeltf

  1. What about it? Virtually the same move. Nowhere near the knee. Nothing flying. Nothing whipping. In this case there was so little pressure Camp went backwards.
  2. Couldn't edit or delete the other. Anyway- I meant full nelson not locked hands here to answer lightweight. Nobody said everything of Dake was behind Taylor- nor that it needs to be. His upper body was clearly behind DTs upper.
  3. Dake locked up very quickly at the end. The call looks better to me from this angle. Nice pics of the crowd. Noticed at ~8:10 Taylor never set on the elbow during the start. And Dake the same at 9:00. I think what appeared to be locked hands from the other view came around 9:10. Not even close.
  4. Not sure where some of this comes from but the move in the video is not at all of a cutback. And I'd like to see someone put his hand on the mat while performing the move. The move is based on having one hand at the opponents upper body- likely in a whizzer- and the other at the knee. It's using the foot that might make it illegal. Even then it must be in a whip-like manner. And there is no rule or picture stating or showing anything about the hand being on the mat.
  5. At one point I think in the 90s, the same guys wrestled 3 times. Not sure if same guy won each time. There was an unresolveable scoring problem (I think it was who got a warning/penalty). Minnesota and Nebraska as I recall, both reddish uniforms and back then they forced us to assign colors in such a way that in this case Minnesota got red over Nebraska and the ref and scorers got confused with the stall call. They felt they had no choice but to rewrestle.
  6. I don't see it as a cutback at all although I could see someone argue that point. The rule itself (pg wr-46 5.8.1) only says that a leg cut back is illegal. But the picture (pg wr-89 #66) shows the defender in the air free leg at and behind the shooter's knee. The wording says that you can't use the leg in a whip-like fashion. That was hardly whip-like and he was nowhere near the knee.
  7. Are you proposing to dig up all this info for the announcers next time?
  8. Again, it's hard to tell if the left hand is on the neck or head or if it's basically in a reverse underhook pulling back on DTs left arm. And the ref is in perfect position to see it.
  9. The issue is reaction time. There was a point where Dake's right hand was still holding DTs left leg and then the re-grab. Basically, I agree with you that another set of refs might have called it differently and with justification. One interesting thing with this analysis is the impact that watching on a video has. I think the two main scenarios discussed here (reverse and escape) are differently analyzed by video. The reverse showed itself to be a better call by slowing it down and seeing that Dake really was behind. Can still argue reaction time but at first almost no one thought it was there never mind reaction time. With the escape slowing it down gives the appearance of more reaction time than there was.
  10. I've been watching wrestling since the late 60s and it's always been like that both HS and college. Reason for the reversal rule is simple. Imagine doing it and not calling 2. What is it? If 0? Go out of bounds there- back to the bottom? If 1? Then he takes him to the mat and and gets 2 more? Would be a disaster. The better argument/question might be to ask why isn't a takedown scored like that? I guess because it wouldn't be a takeDOWN anymore. I think it should be scored as an escape. You have escaped the top man's control, but you have yet to demonstrate control yourself. If you bring the man to the mat, then it is scored as a reversal for an additional point (not 2). I really don't care about who won, just want to understand our (sometimes nebulous) scoring system. It sounds like JR scored it correctly last night! If 1, then Taylor 'reversed again', 1 for Taylor? If DT brought him down would it be 2? If they stayed standing 1-1 would almost make sense but would it be right (wishes during sig bets notwithstanding) for DT to gain from the scenario?
  11. I've been watching wrestling since the late 60s and it's always been like that both HS and college. Reason for the reversal rule is simple. Imagine doing it and not calling 2. What is it? If 0? Go out of bounds there- back to the bottom? If 1? Then he takes him to the mat and and gets 2 more? Would be a disaster. The better argument/question might be to ask why isn't a takedown scored like that? I guess because it wouldn't be a takeDOWN anymore.
  12. I just saw it too. You can argue time of control as that is just judgement, but watch the refs left hand go up (I assume he was signalling two already but the fingers are above the screen) while one of Taylor's feet was still in bounds and they were standing. I forgot to watch for the escape and can't seem to get back into the video. OK, got back into see the rest and basically agree with what Vak says in the post following this one. I couldn't tell from the video where Dake's left hand was but given the way his left shoulder was down assume it could have been around the leg also. Someone mentioned a possible full nelson. Again, video not a good angle but clearly from the crab ride both arms were behind the head for a split second. I'm not sure the left hand wasn't on the neck as opposed to an underhook from behind.
  13. I just saw it too. You can argue time of control as that is just judgement, but watch the refs left hand go up (I assume he was signalling two already but the fingers are above the screen) while one of Taylor's feet was still in bounds and they were standing. I forgot to watch for the escape and can't seem to get back into the video.
  14. Actually, Mario was 5-9 going into the EIWAs. (4 matches up at 133) 3-1 at EIWAs. 4-2 at NCAAs. 12-12 at conclusion. Nice cement job.
  15. I always knew Dake was faking the lung issues. I'd like to know how they even could have Goodale wrestling in this. I don't think he ever had to certify and isn't in the opc in any capacity other than coach. Somebody had to go out of their way to put his name in there.
  16. Matt Ruppel Lehigh, 190 NCAA 1 1990 was diagnosed with spondylolithesis. Was 1-0 his senior year.
  17. Would have been kind of hard starting at 184.
  18. If I was on the PA with a mother screaming like this I would often ask- Can anyone find this wrestler's mother?
  19. "Free move" is just letting your wrestler, who is on the bottom, know that the top guy has been signalled as clasping by the ref. The bottom wrestler can now do any move they want use to get away, without worrying about getting pinned or put on their back since the match will soon be stopped to penalize the top wrestler. Fallacy. The match should be stopped immediately for locked hands unless the defensive wrestler is in the midst of attempting to score an escape or reversal. Too many officials hold that locked hands signal for 20 seconds while the situation hasn't changed. In fact, if I see locked hands and the defensive wrestler isn't attempting an escape of reversal, I don't even signal it. I immediately stop the match and then show the locked hands and technical violation signal. Man, I wish you were the referee of the match one of my heavyweights had this past weekend. Our kid was on top, the bottom guy stands up and our guy locks in the waist to return him. The other kid puts both hands up then drops to one knee just long enough to receive the locked hands call against our guy. The ref's hands go up, our kid lets go, as he should, but a moment too late and the other guy escapes. I'm saying--contrary to what I said in a previous post--"blow the whistle, it's locked hands," but he lets them wrestle for another 10 to fifteen to where our guy scores a takedown to tie the score and THEN he blows the whistle, waving off the other guy's escape and our guy's takedown. I take it to the table and ask him why he waited. He said he was waiting for "advantage" by our wrestlers. I said, "This isn't rugby. We don't play advantage here. The rule states..." I received a warning and sat down in my chair with a buttoned lip. There may be another problem here. If the other kid intentionally dropped to one knee it can be considered unspratsmanlike conduct (although I note that the HS book says repeatedly whereas the college book says on the first time.
×
×
  • Create New...