Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

AWN awards Dieringer with "The Hammer" after being named their 2nd Annual Lb for Lb winner

Recommended Posts

AWN names Dieringer Pound-for-Pound award winner

Mark Palmer
Mark Palmer, InterMat Senior Writer
mark@intermatwrestle.com, Twitter: @MatWriter

Alex Dieringer, who just completed his Oklahoma State wrestling career with his third NCAA title and fourth All-American honor, has been named the 2016 Pound-for-Pound award winner by Amateur Wrestling News, the magazine announced Thursday.

The annual award, now in its second year, is a product of Amateur Wrestling News' ongoing feature where the magazine's staff lists the nation's top ten wrestlers each issue, regardless of weight or collegiate division. As the magazine's press release stated, "The concept isn't new -- boxing's premier spotlight Ring Magazine has been doing it for decades."

Dieringer won his third title at the 2016 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in New York just last weekend, joining an exclusive club of only 15 other Cowboy wrestlers with a trio of titles in the 86-year history of the NCAA championships. The product of Port Washington, Wisconsin wrapped up his career with a 133-4 overall record for a 97 winning percentage, on top of an 82-match win streak. Dieringer has held the No. 1 ranking in all national polls at 165 pounds for the 2015-16, and has occupied AWN's Pound For Pound top slot the entire season.

Isaiah Martinez, back-to-back NCAA 157-pound champ for Illinois, was runner-up in the Pound for Pound contest, while J'den Cox, twice titlist for Missouri at 197, placed third. Other wrestlers included in the AWN feature throughout the 2015-16 season include Nick Gwiazdowski of N.C. State; Cody Brewer of Oklahoma; Ohio State's Nathan Tomasello, Bo Jordan and Kyle Snyder; Gabe Dean, Nahshon Garrett, and Brian Realbuto of Cornell; Jason Tsirtsis of Northwestern; Penn State's Morgan McIntosh, Zain Retherford, and Jason Nolf; and Dean Heil of Oklahoma State. Joey Davis, Notre Dame College standout who won his fourth NCAA title this month and was never defeated, was the only Division II wrestler included in this feature.

Instead of being presented with a trophy or plaque, Dieringer will receive The Hammer, symbolic for the idea behind the Pound for Pound award, according to Amateur Wrestling News.

Dieringer is the second collegiate wrestler to receive the Pound for Pound award. Last year's award was presented to four-time NCAA champion Logan Stieber of Ohio State.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

You're talking about as a redshirt, correct? His only loses on varsity was to St. John 4 times and some PSU guy at the scuffle his freshman year.


Correct - Ringer lost to a D2 guy his true freshman year (redshirt).


Not trying to make a huge statement here... it's just something interesting for wrestling fans to consider in future threads.

Edited by rstrong

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep... lost to d2 and d3 champ same year...


also lost to  Horan in eighth grade...



... sore loser


You must be confused - I'm in 100% agreement that Ringer deserves this award.


I think my other statements are clear if you don't read anything else into them. But, by all means, ask if you have any questions.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...