Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Retherford voted InterMat Wrestler of the Year

Recommended Posts

2016 InterMat Wrestler of the Year Voting Results

1st-5th Place Votes: 9, 7, 5, 3, 1

Total Votes/(First-Place Votes)


1. Zain Retherford (Penn State) 70 (5)

2. Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State) 68 (4)

3. Kyle Snyder (Ohio State) 46

4. Nahshon Garrett (Cornell) 29

5. Isaiah Martinez (Illinois) 20

6. Joey Davis (Notre Dame College) 9 (1)

7. Nick Gwiazdowski (N.C. State) 5

8. J'den Cox (Missouri) 2

9. Gabe Dean (Cornell) 1




Note: This in only the second time in the award's 11 year history that the InterMat Wrestler of the Year differed from the Hodge Award winner. (InterMat had Ruth edging Taylor in 2012.)


Edited by HurricaneWrestling

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

I would definitely be interested in seeing each person's top 5.  By the point system they listed, Retherford averaged 5 points, or exactly 3rd place, by the 5 voters that didn't have him #1.  Third?  Dieringer averaged slightly better at 5.33 points or 2.833 place by the 6 that didn't vot him #1.  Hard to believe that many voters had these guys third or lower.................

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...