As a coach, i am not a fan of locked lineups, especially if they are blind submissions to the lineups. There is some strategy involved in who you send out and when. We were wrestling our region dual opening match. The draw came out at 160. We were going to send our state champion out against their one of the best wrestlers who was also at 160. We sent our wrestler and then they forfeited. Before our wrestler stepped on the mat, yes he had checked in, I withdrew him and threw in a freshman to accept the forfeit. How does this happen? Knowledge of the rules. I had every intention of my 160 competing and no thought of bumping him up to 170 until they forfeited to him. I then realized they had the odd matches and they had to send first. Once they were checked in, in correct order, the wrestlers could not be withdrawn. Even though my guy was sent first, it was not in correct order. Once they "sent" in a forfeit, I could withdraw my kid and send in the freshman per the case book and NFHS rules. We spent 10 minutes at the table because the referees hadn't ever seen that done before. I showed them the case book where it says you can. The called the head referee over. They called the state rules interpreter. It was perfectly legal to do what I had done.
Again, I had no intention of baiting them into forfeiting. We genuinely believed with their lineup that the match would happen at 160 and they were better off keeping their lineup in place instead of bumping. A blind locked in lineup would have swung the dual meet in their favor. On the fly strategy, knowledge of the rules, and last second line up adjustments swung the dual in our favor.
Edited by neutralposition, 28 February 2018 - 09:52 AM.