Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
davenowa

Tourney Forfeits as Wins/Losses

Recommended Posts

 

The following is an attempt to consistently interpret forfeits in terms of an individual’s won/loss record for my state, as those records count toward seeding (and folks like to celebrate milestone wins etc).  As there is no NFHS policy, each state adopts their own guidelines. Some states (such as NY) count virtually every forfeit as a loss, while other states do not.  In terms of defining win types, please note: 1. Medical forfeit is NOT an option in high school results. 2. If a match has started, and ends due to injury, it is a DEFAULT (not a medical forfeit or a forfeit).  Seeking input before trying to implement...have seen too many situations where healthy wrestler forfeits in the finals, or where wrestlers forfeit in tourneys with no impact on their record. at the same time, not looking to unfairly penalize a wrestler who is actually injured and can't continue, especially via a win by DQ.  thanks! 

Dual Meet:  For any forfeit in a dual meet, the winner shall receive a win on their record, but there is no individual loser to be recorded.  Please note that any wrestlers who are part of a “one-man team” may NOT accept forfeits in a dual meet situation (if the other team has no opponent, or chooses to not wrestle).  In addition, any true “team” that allows a wrestler to compete in a “dual meet” match against a 1-man team MAY NOT claim forfeit victories for their other wrestlers against any 1-man teams.

Forfeits: All of the following are acceptable reasons why a wrestler may not compete due to an injury/sickness: On site trainer does not let wrestler continue; On site trainer approves wrestler to continue but the coach does not let them continue; On site trainer and coach approves wrestler to continue but wrestler does not want to continue; no on-site trained available, coach does not let wrestler continue, and no on-site trainer available, coach approves wrestler to continue but wrestler does not want to continue. Summary: The forfeit procedure (to follow) basically attempts to make the number of losses that a wrestler must take for withdrawing from a tournament consistent for both Individual Bracketed tournaments and Individual Round Robin tournaments.

Individually Bracketed Tournaments:  Multiple Scenarios are detailed below

1. If a wrestler is entered into an individually bracketed tournament, he or she may not forfeit their first match and then proceed to continue to wrestle in the wrestlebacks (Rule 10-2-5).  This is a federation rule designed to prevent teams from “ducking” a top seed in the first round. If they are injured or become ill after being entered (but before competing) they should be removed from the tournament and replaced with a bye, or the tournament director may opt to enter the result of the first match as a forfeit (counting as a win for that opponent) and the subsequent consolation match as a forfeit as well (counting as a win for that opponent).  In this case, the withdrawn wrestler does not take any losses on their record.

2. If a wrestler in the winner’s bracket does not take the mat (and forfeits), a win shall be recorded by forfeit for the winner, and a loss shall be counted for the wrestler who is forfeiting.  This includes the championship finals. This shall also be considered as a “win” in terms of head-to-head purposes for seeding points. There is ONLY one exception to this rule: If the wrestler who is forfeiting became injured in his immediately preceding match and was declared the winner by disqualification (ie illegal move resulting in injury), and the coach immediately withdraws the injured winner from the tournament at the head table, the winner of the forfeited match shall still take a forfeit win for record purposes, but the wrestler forfeiting shall not take a loss on record and shall not count as a head to head win for seeding purposes.  If the wrestler who won his prior match by DQ waits until the next round to determine ability to continue, and then forfeits, a loss shall be taken on record.

3. In the consolation bracket, if a wrestler does not take the mat and forfeits to their opponent, the winner shall take a win and the wrestler forfeiting shall take a loss.  However, there are 3 exceptions to this rule:

A. If the wrestler who is forfeiting the match was injured in their immediately preceding match and lost by injury default and did not complete the match (counting as a loss), and the wrestler was then immediately withdrawn from the tournament by the coach, the subsequent forfeit (or forfeits, in the case of a tournament scoring to more than 4 places) shall NOT be counted as losses.  However, the winner by forfeit shall claim a win on their record (the match will NOT count toward head-to-head criteria).

B. As in situation #2 above, if the wrestler who is forfeiting became injured in his immediately prior match and was declared the winner by disqualification (ie illegal move resulting in injury), and the coach immediately withdraws the injured wrestler from the tournament at the head table, the winner of the forfeited match shall still take a forfeit win for record purposes, but the wrestler forfeiting shall not take a loss on record and shall not count as a head to head win for seeding purposes.

C.   In a tournament, an injured wrestler shall not be required to take a loss on their record by forfeit if they have a prior counted loss by injury default.  For example, if a semi-finalist is injured by a legal move, resulting in a loss by injury default, and they are then withdrawn from the tournament and unable to continue, they would NOT take another loss in the consolation semi-finals (and not counted as head to head), and would NOT take another loss for 6th place.  However, if a wrestler has not previously forfeited or lost by injury default, that forfeit loss would count on the record.

Please note that any tournament disqualification for flagrant misconduct will result in losses on record for all forfeited matches, with no limit, and no placement earned.  For example, a semi-finalist is DQed for flagrant misconduct. A 2nd loss is taken in the consi semis, and a 3rd loss is taken in the 5th place bout (with opponents all earning wins for record, AND these wins DO count for head-to-head).

4. Two-Day Tournaments:  A wrestler who advanced on a bracket to a second day of a tournament does not make weight, becomes injured, or cannot compete and must forfeit on Day #2. Although they never take the mat: Record as follows: Winner: Earns a win by forfeit over the school and the name of the wrestler who forfeited. Loser: The wrestler who forfeited takes a loss on their record against the school and name of the opponent they forfeited to in each and every round of the second day. Note: If a wrestler had advanced to a semifinal (in a tournament that places the Top 6) the wrestler would receive 3 losses on their record: One for the semi, one for the consolation semi and a third for the consolation final for 5th/6th.

5. Federation 5-Match Limit:  A wrestler is forced to forfeit because if they wrestled their next bout, it would be their 6th match of the day which would put them over the allotted 5 bouts per day. Record as follows: Winner: Earns a win by forfeit over the school (but not over any specific opponent) . Loser: The wrestler who forfeited does not take a loss on their record as they were denied the chance to wrestle based on the maximum matches per day rule.

6. Individually Bracketed Round Robin Tournaments: If a wrestler withdraws due to injury, a maximum of 2 losses by injury default or forfeit will be counted on their record (in addition to any other losses).  All winners of these forfeits shall earn wins on record. Same exception as in #2 above.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×