Sign in to follow this  
gowrestle

Hair Cut

JB said he has never seen a wrestler get his hair cut. Well, back in the sixties and seventies, when long hair was popular, many wrestlers got their hair cut before the season started. As a coach, I had a ref strictly enforce the hair rule and two of my kids had to trim the back of their hair before a dual meet.  

But remember, because JB is a NCAA, World, and Olympic champion, he is correct. 

1 minute ago, gowrestle said:

JB said he has never seen a wrestler get his hair cut. Well, back in the sixties and seventies, when long hair was popular, many wrestlers got their hair cut before the season started. As a coach, I had a ref strictly enforce the hair rule and two of my kids had to trim the back of their hair before a dual meet.  

It's funny you say that because that's the exact response some people are giving when they get the rules explained to them.

In the popular media this story has been so politicized and readers are fed a story-line that has a limited explanation of the actual rule-based dynamics at play; I have found that trying to explain the nature of the rules and the situation to those wishing to see this as some racially-motivated aggression will simply not hear you - perhaps a reflection of society more broadly.  I don't know the ref from a hole in the ground, but I am afraid that the system will make him a scapegoat for simply enforcing the rules with which he was presented.

8 hours ago, gowrestle said:

You couldn’t have just kept this all in one thread? You needed your point heard separately?

ok. I’ll bite.

1. It isn’t clear cut the ref was in the right, even according to the rules

2. This ref needs to have common sense. Is he so ignorant about what dreadlocks represent? What they might mean to this kid? It is not the same as a white kid with long hair