Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
NJDan

What is locked hands anyway?

Recommended Posts

To be guilty of locked hands, does one need to grip hands, or is it enough to interlock fingers? Is it enough to touch hands? 

Also, if one is gripping a bottom wrestler who is standing up, is it locked hands immediately when the bottom guy takes a knee? Or when he puts a hand on the mat? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

interlocking or overlapping.

 

As mentioned earlier- it's referee's discretion as to reaction time before calling in those situations. And it could actually be ignored if felt to be intentional as to dropping to the knee.

In recent past, it could be considered unsportsmanlike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If that's the rule, then it looked like Suriano was trying to engineer a locked hands call when he sat out during regulation. It's karma that he lost on a ticky-tack penalty call.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, NJDan said:

He wasn't sitting out while standing. He was stitting out and kept shifting his hands so Fix's hands would accidentally overlap. This was earlier in the match.

That was my point. It's only illegal on the mat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, gimpeltf said:

That was my point. It's only illegal on the mat.

I know. I think Suriano was trying to get a locked hands call when he was sitting out. Ironic that he gave up one (tho it was called back) while Fix was standing up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If that was indeed what Suriano was trying to do, then he doesn't understand the rules. You can't bait a locked hands call. It is specifically disallowed in the rulebook and no ref who knows the rules would call locked hands in that situation. It is a good way to give up riding time though.

 

From the latest rule book:
"Interlocking Hands — Baiting. It is inappropriate conduct for the
defensive wrestler to touch either or both hands or one knee to the mat in order
to release the offensive wrestler’s lock, and the referee shall not call a violation if
the lock is held in such cases."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, wrestlingnerd said:

From the latest rule book:
"Interlocking Hands — Baiting. It is inappropriate conduct for the
defensive wrestler to touch either or both hands or one knee to the mat in order
to release the offensive wrestler’s lock, and the referee shall not call a violation if
the lock is held in such cases."

Has this rule changed since 2015 (Brown/Wilps final)? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, wrestlingnerd said:

If that was indeed what Suriano was trying to do, then he doesn't understand the rules. You can't bait a locked hands call. It is specifically disallowed in the rulebook and no ref who knows the rules would call locked hands in that situation. It is a good way to give up riding time though.

 

From the latest rule book:
"Interlocking Hands — Baiting. It is inappropriate conduct for the
defensive wrestler to touch either or both hands or one knee to the mat in order
to release the offensive wrestler’s lock, and the referee shall not call a violation if
the lock is held in such cases."

Which is why all of the anti-PSU fans were all up in arms when Matt Brown appeared to bait Wilps (Pitt) in the NCAA finals a few years ago 

Edit: quanon, beat me to it.... no, it was in the rule book in 2015

Edited by gromit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quanon, as gromit noted, it was definitely in the rule book. The exact same wording I quoted, starting from "it is inappropriate..." is in the rulebook for the 2014-2015 season. I did notice, interestingly, that in subsequent years, the passage I quoted was yanked from the general Interlocking Hands section and given its own heading, titled "Interlocking Hands -- Baiting." Influenced by the Brown/Wilps match?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, quanon said:

Has this rule changed since 2015 (Brown/Wilps final)? 

 It used to be ok (at least it wasn't mentioned). Then it could be unsportsmanlike. Then inappropriate.

 

But it doesn't appear to be a substantial change since then. They call it baiting now Probably more of an emphasis.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...