Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
NJDan

The Yianni Calls???

Recommended Posts

Can someone explain?

In the 2rd period, from a scramble, Yianni flipped McKenna so he was flat on his back. He held him there for a two-count. Isn't that 2 points for putting McKenna in danger-- even if it was not a takedown?

Or do you need more than a two-count? 

In the end, the refs gave Yianni 2 and McKenna 1. It could have been just two for Yianni.

Please explain.

in the 3d, the ref gave Yianni a takedown, which was dubious, and he gave McKenna an escape, which was also dubious. I am not sure about the TD. But if Yianni was in control, he never lost control.

 

 

Edited by NJDan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, wrestlingnerd said:

Blown call, then make-up call.

That's possible.

But my bigger question is about the second period. Was the brick challenge really about the lack of a TD or was it about not getting the danger points? Or was it about both? Pr do we not know what it was about?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They challenged it being TD and 2 backs I believe. That sequence should have been 2 TD 2 Backs for Yianni. 1 escape for McKenna. 3rd period no TD. Lots of controversial calls in thia year's finals unfortunately. Something has to be done about that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have to have been in control to get near fall. And being in danger should start a danger count for the TD. But generally it's about two seconds before starting the count to ensure some degree of control. Then three more seconds to get the TD.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Honestly I think crowd noise for Cornell wrestler may influenced call in 3rd period was close to points in 2nd period.  Popular or best athletes always get calls. He got a close call in the semis also on the 3 seconds danger rule

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...