GoNotQuietly

Is Mekhi Lewis a 2020 threat?

I'm not equating NCAA success to the Open level; there are levels to this, but this kid really is special in both styles.  My question is, how soon can Mekhi start challenging for a spot on the U.S. team?  Assuming he goes 74Kgs, right now I would strongly favor Burroughs, Dake, and Ringer over him, but I think he is at least on par with the next group of guys.  Should the top tier be worried?

I’ll admit I’m a FS novice right up front. I didn’t really get into it too much until mehki and DMF went to U23. Mehki’s success in capturing gold in a world level event in only his 3rd FS tourney is crazy. I actually think he’s a better FS wrestler than he is in folk. He has a really good nuetral game and is almost impossible to take down. He has a lot to learn in par ter though but his ceiling is very high. 

Dake was definitely watching him very close at the Cornell vs VT dual this year. 

Lewis actually said he didn’t like FS that much prior to winning gold.  If he decides to fully commit at some point to exclusively training FS, he’s gonna make some noise sooner rather than later 

I think it'll be 2024. He'll be fully developed then, not in college anymore and able to focus exclusively on FS, and have 10-20x more experience than he does now (only 3 tournaments).

He probably doesn't have to deal with Ringer but don't forget about Mark Hall and Jason Nolf.

Mekhi may keep Hall off the starting spot on Team USA for his whole career. I think Nolf will make several teams at 70 kg and medal.

Well I have to think that he will be a factor, the only question is when. Personally I think JB keeps his spot this year and in 2020. I don't have any insight on JB, but given his age and his long track record of success, I suspect that he will retire after the 2020 Olympics as one of our all time greats.