Axe_Spartan 205 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 At the time of the match I was looking for some explanation about this match but haven't found it so far. The question is, is there any explanation for this situation, which is, Gable getting the escape 3 or 4 seconds before 1 minute of riding time (at least what whas showed on TV), and the clock kept running until reaching over a minute? Which was decisive in not getting to OT and Cassar winning the match. I was kind of surprise there wasn't much debate about this, which brings me to the conclusion that there is a logic and simple explanation that I'm unaware of. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
russelscout 1,573 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 I don't think anyone really agreed with it, but it is consistent with the way refs have been calling it so you really can't complain too much. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simple 297 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 The explanation is that refs are garbage and will rarely overturn their own calls even when they’re obviously wrong. Gable was robbed of at least OT. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Perry 1,428 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 They did overrule their decision. They changed riding time from 1:02 to 1:01 lol it was bad but Penn state got all the big calls they needed. See nolf vs hidlay Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
IronChef 1,099 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 Officials do not award an escape until the top wrestler's hand passes the midpoint of the bottom wrestler's back. By that standard, Gable did not earn an escape prior to Cassar earning over 1 minute of riding time. 3 OfficialObserver, GranbyTroll and JHRoseWrestling reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OfficialObserver 38 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 1 hour ago, IronChef said: Officials do not award an escape until the top wrestler's hand passes the midpoint of the bottom wrestler's back. By that standard, Gable did not earn an escape prior to Cassar earning over 1 minute of riding time. This is 100% correct per the rule. The hand has to cross the mid-line of the back before the escape can be awarded. 1 dtry222 reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GockeS 548 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 (edited) which is intended to protect the escaping wrestler...but hoses them in a close match. that said, there were several posts about this earlier and some mentioned that gable wasn't exactly in a hurry prior to getting out. Edited March 26, 2019 by GockeS 1 dtry222 reacted to this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
simple 297 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, OfficialObserver said: This is 100% correct per the rule. The hand has to cross the mid-line of the back before the escape can be awarded. Please cite this rule Found no mention of it in either of these http://www.ncaa.org/sites/default/files/2017-19MWR_Case_Book_20180214.pdf http://www.ncaapublications.com/p-4515-2017-18-and-2018-19-wrestling-rules-and-interpretations-2-year-publication.aspx Edited March 26, 2019 by simple Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Perry 1,428 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 I cant feel bad for gable regardless since he stayed on all four points without moving for the first 6 or 7 seconds of that last ride by cassar Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
IronChef 1,099 Report post Posted March 26, 2019 30 minutes ago, simple said: Please cite this rule Found no mention of it in either of these http://www.ncaa.org/sites/default/files/2017-19MWR_Case_Book_20180214.pdf http://www.ncaapublications.com/p-4515-2017-18-and-2018-19-wrestling-rules-and-interpretations-2-year-publication.aspx You're right that it's not in there, but that is the way it is consistently called, and it is what the referees are looking for when waiting to award an escape. I don't know if there is an officiating manual where this and other situations are explained, but I suspect there is, as the rulebook description of an escape is very short. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites