Sign in to follow this  
Giovanni

Joe Rogan talks Askren/JB and Sadulaev/Snyder

Some good takes from Joe and Lex..

-JB is a terrible matchup for Ben (as he is for most people on this planet)

-Why the hell is the mat elevated off the ground? Discussing serious injury risks for all parties involved. 

-Do Snyder and Sadulaev have plans for MMA after 2020? Lex seems to think yes, I have no prior knowledge on this.

The full interview goes on to talk more about Russian/Dagestani culture and the mindset/pride of these athletes. Joe even briefly talks about fantasy matchups between JB vs Khabib or Askren vs Khabib (assuming Ben loses some of that dad bod).

Overall a pretty good listen. Nice to see wrestling getting some mainstream attention after a high profile matchup at BTS.

4 minutes ago, wrestlingnerd said:

This is why Askren is the man. This will be the most talked about BTS ever because he was willing to sacrifice his dad bod to JB. 

Couldn't agree more. Ben put ego aside and went into this event knowing that he is most likely going to get dominated/embarrassed by one of the all-time greats, simply to help support BTS and promote the sport of wrestling. Love Ben and everything he does for the sport.

I loved Rogan’s take on safety at BTS. You can’t have conditions that could put someone’s health at risk!

It’s interesting that when it comes to freestyle, Rogan apparently has only heard of JB (and not Snyder or Sadulaev). It seems that JB has positioned himself as the most well known American wrestler right now. It’s no accident either. He’s fun to watch and he has a social media presence. 

It was also really cool of Askren to raise the profiles of BTS, JB, and freestyle. Very good man.

Edited by Katie

4 hours ago, Giovanni said:

Some good takes from Joe and Lex..

-JB is a terrible matchup for Ben (as he is for most people on this planet)

-Why the hell is the mat elevated off the ground? Discussing serious injury risks for all parties involved.