RJChicago

Thomas Gilman History

Hello all - I'm new to closely following International wrestling and I've quickly become obsessed. Anyway, I've heard a lot of references to Thomas Gilman - and controversies he has had, things he has said in the past that have gotten people riled up, etc. I had never even heard of Thomas Gilman until recently, so I didn't know any of this. I would be so appreciative if someone could quickly recap and/or post any of what all of this relates to. I had never even seen him speak until the Final X Lincoln Press Conference.

He's used racial slurs in the past, he's intentionally tried to injure people (Waters), he's acted like an ass on the mat, he's instigated crap with other wrestlers and other teams, and he says stupid and disrespectful things in interviews.  If you ask non-Iowa fans, the majority would probably tell you he's the biggest jerk in the sport right now.

33 minutes ago, KCMO2 said:

If you ask non-Iowa fans, the majority would probably tell you he's the biggest jerk in the sport right now.

Give Iowa fans a little credit, ~half of them would also agree with that statement.

45 minutes ago, KCMO2 said:

He's used racial slurs in the past, he's intentionally tried to injure people (Waters), he's acted like an ass on the mat, he's instigated crap with other wrestlers and other teams, and he says stupid and disrespectful things in interviews.  If you ask non-Iowa fans, the majority would probably tell you he's the biggest jerk in the sport right now.

Racial slurs? Are you referring to “the Jap” comment. I don’t think that was meant as a racial slur. If it was 1944, maybe, but I think it was more referring to the person’s place of origin. Only say this because saying because without context he is being painted to be a racist.

He was often chippy in college and would apparently succumb to emotions in close matches. I think he's matured since then.