Creek chub

Mehki Lewis oly shirt?

I know this topic has been discussed somewhat but the hokie board says mehki trained at the OTC a week or two ago and he’s going back out there with frayer at the end of the month. 

I’m a FS novice fan and don’t understand how the qualification process works. If mehki decides to use his oly shirt and doesn’t make the team, is that a big deal? 

Also, how many slots are there per weight class?

I know this topic has been discussed somewhat but the hokie board says mehki trained at the OTC a week or two ago and he’s going back out there with frayer at the end of the month. 
I’m a FS novice fan and don’t understand how the qualification process works. If mehki decides to use his oly shirt and doesn’t make the team, is that a big deal? 

No big deal regarding NCAA eligibility if he takes his ORS. He’ll just be deferring graduation by a year.

One Olympic slot per weight class. National team is considered top three at each weight, which has ties to funding for training - but that won’t be determined until after his ORS season is over.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2 hours ago, lu_alum said:

No big deal regarding NCAA eligibility if he takes his ORS. He’ll just be deferring graduation by a year.

One Olympic slot per weight class. National team is considered top three at each weight, which has ties to funding for training - but that won’t be determined until after his ORS season is over.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for the information. It’ll be interesting to see hear his decision. I believe frayer said he’d make it by the end of August 

I believe what he was asking was how many folks are allowed to take a Oly-shirt per weight class.

The criteria does not have a quantity maximum. If 25 kids wish to chase it at 74kg and they meet the criteria, they can all Oly-shirt 

4 hours ago, Creek chub said:

You just need to qualify for the Olympic shirt to take it. You don’t even have to wrestle at trials.