Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
RED

Yianni / Retherford....more

Recommended Posts

Okay, I read the arbitrator nullified the second match because the officials incorrectly allowed for the late challenge.  So if the challenge should not have been allowed, why didn't he award the match to Yianni instead of nullifying it.  Am I missing something?  Seems pretty obvious and straight forward to me...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don’t know for sure, but the way the 2-2 made it to the board is also against procedure, so I don’t think they could rest on that score. And they’re not going to rescore the bout, so really the only options are throw out the match or result stays as is. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, scribe said:

I think the arbitrator should also erase a bunch of tbar’s posts. 

I thought TBar did well.  Sure, he ignored the obvious and fundamental, but he covered every other possible angle with an astonishing amount of text , arcane rule regurgitation and passion.  It was like watching a Senate filibuster play out in vain.  Kudos to him!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, RED said:

Okay, I read the arbitrator nullified the second match because the officials incorrectly allowed for the late challenge.  So if the challenge should not have been allowed, why didn't he award the match to Yianni instead of nullifying it.  Am I missing something?  Seems pretty obvious and straight forward to me...

In short lawyers and arbitrators can’t change a score over actual match side officials but then can  nullify a match 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Antitroll2828 said:

In short lawyers and arbitrators can’t change a score over actual match side officials but then can  nullify a match 

Only for special events governed by the USOC, as opposed to the specific sport’s governing body, i.e. USA Wrestling, in this case. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Antitroll2828 said:

In short lawyers and arbitrators can’t change a score over actual match side officials but then can  nullify a match 

the decision says that while it is within the arbitrator's authority to invalidate the challenge and revert the score to 8-6 he didn't think that was an appropriate solution. it was one of the alternative remedies sought by team yianni. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yianni explains it in his interview with track when he talks about in of the UWW articles of the rules.  He says something about how the match score can't be changed after the hand is raised.  So the challenge in arbitration was the brick throw thus nullifying the end result.  He then stayed that in the rulling they said rules were broken during the match but they weren't going to break anymore rules (i.e. switching the score and giving yianni the match).  So the second match was to be thrown out And rewrestled.  It's on track.  It's a long interviewi but it was good an interesting. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...