ergo189

Is it too late to start Wrestling?

I'm 17 yrs old and I want to learn wrestling. I have never done any sport seriously. But I've been lifting weights for 1 1/2 years.  Is it too late for me to start? I'm starting training this saturday. (My friend invited me). He said that they usually don't accept newbies at this stage because their tournament is soon but he say I can still join but I'm gonna have to adapt to their workouts. Should I join now or wait until the tournament is finished?  Also any tips for a beginner? Thank you.

Edited by ergo189

I'm 17 yrs old and I want to learn wrestling. I have never done any sport seriously. But I've been lifting weights for 1 1/2 years.  Is it too late for me to start? I'm starting training this saturday. (My friend invited me). He said that they usually don't accept newbies at this stage because their tournament is soon but he say I can still join but I'm gonna have to adapt to their workouts. Should I join now or wait until the tournament is finished?  Also any tips for a beginner? Thank you.
The older you get before starting the more a$$ whoopings you take before winning but its never too late... unless you're 30... then its is way too late.

Absolutely start but don’t worry for a second about any tournament/match results....for awhile. I’d even suggest avoid competing in any tournaments for a bit. Focus on improving on something every day, and having fun. (This message is NLWC approved). But seriously it’s a tough sport, as tough as it looks it’s even tougher once you’re in the grind. But it’s a wonderful sport and where you are focused makes all the difference in the world. 

Edited by Lurker

6 minutes ago, Antitroll2828 said:

George st.pierre starting wrestling when he was 16 and by 20 he could beat everyone on team canada. A lot of it is just mindset and dedication , definitely not too late.

Just curious - has anyone actually seen this guy in a refereed match?  Has he ever been in one?