Sign in to follow this  
klehner

A peek inside grey-shirting

10 minutes ago, witwhiz said:

"You don't have to take courses."

This is worse than I thought.

What's wrong with that statement?

Grayshirting is mainly non-technical term generally associated with taking a year between HS and college. It's not usually meant to be the year that a kid leaves the IVY school in an attempt to mimic a redshirt so I dispute the one statement about the Princeton kids this year (other than Kolodzik) although again not terribly a big deal since the term is non-technical. 

Lewis was just stating a fact that he didn't have to take any courses in the grayshirt year but is anyway.

28 minutes ago, witwhiz said:

"You don't have to take courses."

This is worse than I thought.

I'm not a proponent of the grey shirt, but he wasn't saying that as if it's a benefit.  It was in response to the statement that they're taking community college courses--something they are not required to do, but have chosen to.  

I think the issue is basically 1 of 2 things are happening:

1.  This is increasingly making wrestling a sport for the upper-middle class and up, as they're pretty much the only ones that would want to pay for their kids to live in another state to go to a community college part-time.  I guess one could take out student loans, but that's a whole nother issue, although if they will have little or none once they get into Cornell, that could be a good tradeoff for an Ivy League education.

2.   Cornell/Finger Lakes RTC is somehow financing these guys' housing, etc. (not likely IMO but I wouldn't be totally surprised if they were) 

Not a fan of redshirts or greyshirts.  Go to college, learn, get into the world and start your adult life and add value.  A year less of income, retirement savings, experience etc.  

First world problems I suppose.  Tons of money slushing around that makes getting a job less important.

7 minutes ago, Plasmodium said: