TBar1977

Penn State and Wilkes Open

I think Penn State has essentially made the Wilkes Open their 16th competition date. I am no expert on the competition date rules  but I think if 6 or more wrestlers compete attached then it is a competition date and that seems to be the case at the Wilkes Open on December 22nd. Seems like all the meaningful wrestlers will be competing there, some attached and others not as they are in redshirt except a few wrestlers headed elsewhere. Shakur Rasheed is registered for Wilkes, but at 184. I wouldn't make too much of that. Brady Berge will compete. Even Matt Lee representing the NLWC will be there. Carter Starocci, Joe Lee and Seth Nevills as well. Even Mark Hall who I had previously thought would be at the US Open, he is registered too. 

US Open: Nick Lee, Vincenzo Joseph, Aaron Brooks, and Anthony Cassar

The Southern Scuffle: Michael Beard

It almost looks to me like the Wilkes Open is a wrestle off opportunity for 125 and 149.

One other interesting note, Adam Busiello is competing at Wilkes at 149. 

A thread on the PSU board lays all this out. 

https://bwi.forums.rivals.com/threads/wilkes-open.255472/

Edited by TBar1977

10 minutes ago, treep2000 said:

Is Mark Hall forgoing his shot at the Olympics?  @TBar1977

Not sure. He said he is concentrating on folk this year, for whatever that statement is worth. 

The biggest things regarding this development, imo only maybe, are that they wanted another day of competition without having to go too far to get it. I wonder where Beard will compete. And the whole Busiello thing. What are the odds he chose this tournament of all tournaments to compete in unattached? Seems almost like an audition of his own arranging. 

I hope Shak competes at 197 as opposed to 184. 

Edited by TBar1977

8 minutes ago, steamboat_charlie v2 said: