Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Illegal headlock?

Recommended Posts

Not an official, but I've been around the sport for a few decades.  

To the best of my understanding, the rules require that when your locked hands encircle the head the elbow has to be trapped in there, too.  As gimpeltf said, white has a legal hold until :16 when he locks his hands.  At that point the elbow is not included in the lock, making it illegal.  Looks like a pretty straightforward call that the head official missed; the assistant bailed him out.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Create New...