Nushy

Illegal Maneuver Question

This is my first time on this forum, so please forgive me if I make any mistakes. I have a question about NFHS guidelines. 

In Florida High School Wrestling: Scenario: opponent 1 is face down on the mat with opponent 2 on top. Opponent 2 drives a very hard crossface across opponent 1’s open mouth completely covering it for more than 6 seconds. As an official you are standing directly in front of both opponents. Do you stop the match due to the fact that opponent 1’s mouth is completely covered? From what I have read according to NFHS rules, any maneuver that completely covers the mouth, nose, throat or neck that could restrict breathing is illegal. Would you allow this to go on for over 6 seconds? 

Is it illegal to completely cover the mouth during a crossface in high school wrestling? Can’t seem to get a straight answer from the FHSAA. Thanks for any input. 

3 hours ago, Nushy said:

Thank you for your response AHamilton. My wording was incorrect. This is the rule as it is written by the NFHS.  My interpretation would be if the mouth is covered it’s illegal. 3B78879C-76DC-47BB-9536-4F3E1792E631.thumb.jpeg.00ec851e034ff7c98ad213be9ad8002c.jpeg

The key is restricting breathing or circulation.  1)I don't see how a cross face can completely cover a wide open mouth.  2) you are still able to breath through your nose and the parts of your open mouth.  3) doesn't restrict circulation at all.  My opinion, what you described may be more of a potentially dangerous situation than an illegal situation, and the ref should signal potentially dangerous, talk to the offensive wrestler that he needs to adjust, and if nothing changes blow it dead for potentially dangerous.  But kind of hard to tell without actually seeing it.

On 12/30/2019 at 12:38 PM, Nushy said: