moveurfeet32

D1 Coaches who are not afraid to tell The Truth

It will be interesting to see whether airing the laundry so publicly and so specifically (naming names, calling guys liars, saying you are going to treat them like kids, etc.) will be an effective technique, or if it will just cause them to tune you out. I am not arguing for coddling, I am just wondering if this will be an effective technique. Or would a coach be better served blasting the kid privately and being vague publicly? Order probably matters. If he has already blasted them privately over each of these issues then perhaps they are not as inclined to revolt. 

Many moons ago, I was a high school coach and the local paper was covering one of our duals.  We got hammered and I was interviewed.  I talked about how the other team was more prepared and aggressive.  When I read my words, my thought was: "well, who's fault is that?"  

Someone needs to get Dresser a mirror.  

4 minutes ago, silvermedal said:

Many moons ago, I was a high school coach and the local paper was covering one of our duals.  We got hammered and I was interviewed.  I talked about how the other team was more prepared and aggressive.  When I read my words, my thought was: "well, who's fault is that?"  

Someone needs to get Dresser a mirror.  

Hence why the "micro managment" is taking place.

I appreciate honesty in a coach's comments, but what sort of rubs me the wrong way is the unwillingness of these coaches to criticize themselves.  Particularly listening to Dresser, you'd think that the reason they lost to Okie State has 100% to do with the wrestlers' life choices and 0% to do with any coaching shortcomings.  And maybe that's true, but do we really know?

The title for this thread should probably be "D1 Coaches who are not afraid to criticize their wrestlers" or "not afraid to speak their mind."  Whether what they are saying is true is another matter.  

Edited by BAC