Old Corps

Writing a book on: Mental Toughness for Wrestlers

I’m a long-time student of this topic, as it applied first to my beloved (and undistinguished) wrestling career, then to my 20+ years as a US Marine.

I’ve never met an experienced coach or wrestler who didn’t agree that mental toughness plays a huge role in a wrestler’s success. Yet, I find very little material has been written on this topic that is specifically tailored to our sport. 

So, to remedy this, I’m in the initial stage of writing a book that is aimed at youth and high school wrestlers. 

I will be conducting interviews with coaches at all levels, and high-achieving wrestlers who were particularly known for their mental toughness, resolve, ability to perform under pressure, grit or anything else you might call that intangible quality that many of us have heard referred to as “heart.”

I’d appreciate your suggestions regarding folks I should contact and request interviews of. 

Thanks!

There is a book published in 2019 called "Wrestling Tough: Dominate Mentally on the Mat" by Human Kinetics of Champaign, Illinois, one of the largest publishers of sports books in America. It is a revised edition of the 2004 book of the same name. It is 228 pages long and is loaded with stories and quotes from such legends as Gable, Smith (Bill and John), Sanderson, Kemp, Schultz, Brands, Ryan, Robinson, etc. Kyle Snyder is on the cover. It is available in every  Barnes & Noble and on my web site. -- Mike Chapman

I’d look up wrestlers who moved on to become members of the military, Special Ops, SEALs, etc, and those that achieved advanced degrees (MD, JD, PhD) as those require more than intelligence, they require mental toughness and fortitude.