Sign in to follow this  
Housebuye

Wait...can college athletes be paid to wrestle?!

I keep hearing Flo is paying the college guys on the card next week. I am no expert in the NCAA rules, but isn’t this not allowed?

I know new rules were voted on, but those definitely haven’t gone into affect yet. 

just trying to figure out why this is allowed

3 minutes ago, Housebuye said:

I keep hearing Flo is paying the college guys on the card next week. I am no expert in the NCAA rules, but isn’t this not allowed?

I know new rules were voted on, but those definitely haven’t gone into affect yet. 

just trying to figure out why this is allowed

No.  But there are rules where they are allowed under certain instances to be provided with actual expenses.  

So Flo probably considers it payment since it is an actual expenses for them.   But it isn’t actually compensation for the athlete.  Kind of like how the All-Star Classic pays for athletes expenses to get to the dual.

I wonder if the new rules allow for college wrestlers to make ad money off of online activities like vlogs and podcasts.  If that is the case, an incoming Division 2 wrestler (Wisconsin-Parkside) by the name of Cayden Henschel, and/or Chase Saldate from Gilroy, CA (Michigan State) might wind up being the pioneers of that kind of model.

12 minutes ago, Konquest said:

I wonder if the new rules allow for college wrestlers to make ad money off of online activities like vlogs and podcasts.  If that is the case, an incoming Division 2 wrestler (Wisconsin-Parkside) by the name of Cayden Henschel, and/or Chase Saldate from Gilroy, CA (Michigan State) might wind up being the pioneers of that kind of model.

Good question. Jesse Vasquez out of Corona, CA might be another.