Sign in to follow this  
BigApple

Solving the football problem with Title IX

I think I’ve got a viable “outside of the box” way to solve the football problem as it pertains to Title IX. The 85 scholarships for male football players has resulted in the elimination of some men’s athletic teams, with wrestling being a major victim.

Football funds the entire athletic program at many of the major universities. The University of Oklahoma is my alma mater, I was an assistant coach there in the 70s. My drinking buddy was the recruiting coordinator for football, then the associate AD in charge of fund-raising. So I got a first hand view of the entire athletic program from a financial point of view, and the importance of football as a revenue source.

The OU athletic department in the 1950s was a separate legal entity from the university. It was wholly self supporting including the building of its facilities. Now the university administration did the hiring of the coaches. Later it was brought back into the university.

There is a possibility of the major college football programs “bolting” from the NCAA because of the restrictions it places on them in regards to the number of scholarships, the forbidding of payments to student athletes. When I coached each athlete on a full scholarship got a $15 per month stipend, that was considered a “laundry allowance”. This was eliminated by the NCAA after I left in 1974.