Jump to content


Photo

Did Dake 5 Burroughs?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 supyall46

supyall46

    Bronze Member

  • Members
  • 324 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:18 PM

I thought that might have been 5. Just my opinion, but it was dang close.

#2 gimpeltf

gimpeltf

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 5,534 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:20 PM

I thought that might have been 5. Just my opinion, but it was dang close.


Sorry- misread title- don't see delete here.

#3 Glane18

Glane18

    Silver Member

  • Members
  • 1,746 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:20 PM

Looked like 5 to me.

#4 Indywrastlin23

Indywrastlin23
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:24 PM

It looked like a textbook 3 to me. The 5s that I have seen have been high arching throws. That was more of a gut wrench motion out of bounds IMO. Great Match!!!!!!

#5 sockobuw

sockobuw

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,944 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:24 PM

didnt land in danger

#6 gutfirst

gutfirst

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,605 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:26 PM

from where? chest to chest, double, belly to back? how about a description?

#7 wiedsworld

wiedsworld

    Bronze Member

  • Members
  • 886 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:28 PM

Definately looked like a gut that ended up above normal height due to JB trying to step up to defense it. Def not 5.

#8 supyall46

supyall46

    Bronze Member

  • Members
  • 324 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:48 PM

Dake got Burroughs down to four-point, then either went guy or reverse lock (I think it was guy, but not totally sure). Burroughs turned in slightly (possible to step over) and Dake sent him flying. I thought I saw some arch in there, but maybe it was just me.

#9 quanon

quanon

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,836 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:50 PM

Dake tried it again toward the end of the match, and Burroughs collapsed to the ground to make sure that he gave up two and not three.

I also thought that Burroughs should have been cautioned for fleeing the mat during the scramble that tied the match at 4, given the way that fleeing has been called.

#10 JasonBryant

JasonBryant

    I love the Goonies.

  • Members
  • 8,885 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:52 PM

Exciting, but not close to a 5. You have to land in danger for it to be a 5. For a definition of danger (proper wording), I will defer to guys like matref (who has another handle on this board)

Don't work here no more. Happy now?

www.mattalkonline.com


#11 sockobuw

sockobuw

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,944 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:52 PM

5 points
- All grand amplitude throws executed in a standing position which bring the defending wrestler to a direct and immediate danger position.
30
- The hold executed by a wrestler in the "par terre" position who completely lifts his opponent off the ground with the execution of a high amplitude throw which projects the opponent into a direct and immediate danger position

#12 quanon

quanon

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,836 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:53 PM

There's a section on danger in the rules.

Can't be in danger if you land on your hands.

#13 gimpeltf

gimpeltf

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 5,534 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:54 PM

There's a section on danger in the rules.

Can't be in danger if you land on your hands.


Face up or down?

#14 quanon

quanon

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,836 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 01:58 PM

There's a section on danger in the rules.

Can't be in danger if you land on your hands.


Face up or down?


Palms down.

What are you talking about?

#15 melvin

melvin

    Bronze Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:06 PM

I did not think that he had 5 but I did think that there was a TD at the end BEFORE the JB 2. Most exciting match in a LONG time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#16 quanon

quanon

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,836 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:18 PM

A wrestler shall be considered in the 'danger position' when the line of his back (or the line of his shoulders) vertically or in parallel with the mat, forms an angle of less than 90 degrees to the said mat and when he resists with the upper part of his body to avoid a 'fall'. (See definition of 'fall').
The danger position occurs when:
- The defending wrestler assumes the bridge position to avoid being pinned.
- The defending wrestler, with his back toward the mat, supports himself on one or both elbows
to avoid having his shoulders forced onto the mat.
- The wrestler has one shoulder in contact with the mat and at the same time exceeds the 90
degree vertical line with the other shoulder (acute angle).
- The wrestler finds himself in the 'instantaneous fall' position, that is, when he is on both
shoulders for less than one second.
- The wrestler rolls on his shoulders.
The 'danger position' no longer exists when the wrestler exceeds the 90-degree vertical line with his chest and stomach facing the mat.
If the mat and the competitor's back form a 90-degree angle only, this cannot yet be considered a 'danger position' (the neutral point).

#17 gimpeltf

gimpeltf

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 5,534 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:26 PM

There's a section on danger in the rules.

Can't be in danger if you land on your hands.


Face up or down?


Palms down.

What are you talking about?


If he landed on his hands exposing his back...

#18 quanon

quanon

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,836 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:41 PM

In my memory, Burroughs landed on his butt and both hands, exposing his back, then turned to his stomach without hitting his elbow -- so no 5. But I'd have to see a replay. I think it was close to being grand amplitude.

#19 Plasmodium

Plasmodium

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 4,734 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:49 PM

Towards the end of the first, Burroughs took Dake down and split his legs. Why didn't he get two for that turn?

#20 sockobuw

sockobuw

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 2,944 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 02:54 PM

pretty sure he got 1 for hand to hand before dake scored his 1 for fleeing/reversal




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users