Sign in to follow this  
Jaroslav Hasek

USA predictions at the Worlds

its only a month before Worlds in Budapest, so I was hoping to get some expert opinions from the international fans on how the USA is going to do (any other predictions also most welcome). I'm no expert but I'll give it a shot. my guess for placements, stated as worst case/most likely/best case for each weight.

55 - Blanc 10/5/3

60 - Humphrey NP/10/5

66 - Metcalf 8/3/2

74 - Burroughs 3/1/1

84 - Gavin NP/10/7

96 - Bergman 10/5/3

120 - Dlagnev 5/3/1

too generous, too harsh? i think it's conceivable that the US only brings home 1 medal but my best guess is 3 or 4. i think handicapping these big international tournaments are quite difficult, since your placement depends so much on your draw and how well your opponents do following a defeat.

Well hopefully they all have the tournament of their lives. And best of luck to all of them. But that being said I am thinking three medals, Metcalf, Dlagnev, should get Silvers or Bronze, Burroughs should win Gold.

If there is anything that we should take away from thoughts,predictions etc..is that it all depends on bracketing. I'm hoping for 3-4 medals but am only really confident in 2.(Burroughs and Metcalf or Dlagnev)

I believe our rank in order from least likely to most likely to medal are as follows

7) Gavin

6) Humphrey

5) Bergman

4) Blanc

3) Metcalf

2) Dlagnev

1) Burroughs

Well Metcalf took 2nd at Yarygin, and wrestled well as the World Cup. Additionally and he just came off a good performance in his last tournament. Also I believe he is wrestling inspired right now and I believe the rule changes benefit him greatly. So I think he is going to work some folks . I know that that his weight class is stacked and it'll be difficult, but I think he is being driven by a sense of redemption which I think will take him to the next level. So I think he is most likely to medal behind Burroughs.