Sign in to follow this  
merman

Weight Training and Wrestling

As a former college wrestler, I found weight training to be largely worthless and often detrimental activity during the season. What little strength gains were made (nearly impossible to do while on a measly diet) were more than offset by increased risk of injury and mental fatique/burnout. Additionally, when I would try to score during practice and failed, I wasn't sure if it was my technique that was poor, or because of the soreness from the 5 sets of leg squats from that morning's lift. Perhaps this is a better topic for another section, but I figured I would put this out there and see if any former wrestlers or coaches have had the same experience/thoughts.

Should I have titled this "Why I don't put much stock in weight training?"

I'm no expert on this but from what I've read and experienced, for the most part you should only be lifting during the season to basically "maintain" what you gained during the offseason. Meaning two to three days a week. We didn't lift during high school season but we did during college. I believe most colleges hit the weight room during the season. I'd love to see some in-season programs that they use.

On a related but separate topic, I wonder what is better, weight training, or bodyweight-based gymnastics and calisthenics training?