Shahin2000

Jordan Burroughs comparison to Aleksandr Karelin

Ok guys I am by no means an expert in wrestling.  In fact many of you Americans know more about Iran's wrestling than I do.  In any case I like to throw this out to you guys.  Many people often try to compare players like Lebron and Kobe and the likes to Michael.  There will never ever be anyone like him.  However, when it comes to the wrestling's greatest, the first wrestler that comes to people's minds is Aleksandr Karelin.  The guy was supremely athletic and many NFL scouts were begging him to switch sports.  I believe if there is anyone that comes close to Karelin's dominance and athleticism is JB.  What do you guys think?

No. The gap is pretty huge here. Burroughs can be a international great but never in the conversation as greatest ever, sorry. Way to many close matches. This is kinda like the argument that Dake is in the conversation with Sanderson on greatest american (folk) wrestler ever. Again Dake is one of the greats but should never be in the conversation of greatest ever. Again, way to many close matches and loses. Karelin and Sanderson are the best case closed. If Sadulleav keeps this pace up through 2020 then we may be talking about him being on Karelin's level. B Satiev had to many close matches and loses. but it is much harder to dominate freestyle because of the depth of competition is much deeper. 

Edited by PRyan2012

Burroughs has a LONG way to go to make that list. He's not even the best in the history of USA Wrestling, let alone the world.

I wouldn't call Karelin the best ever either. The dude wrestled at heavyweight, a notoriously less athletic weight than Burroughs' 74 kilo class. He also wrestled Greco and not Freestyle. No slight on Greco at all, but Karelin wasn't exactly a beast on his feet. He made his money on top. To me, given his weight and his ability to wrestle very, very well in every position, I'd say Hamid Sourian is higher on the list than Karelin.